Inspiration : Courage

This is a series of inspiring stories of women being women.  To find more stories, click on the Inspiration page tab above.

from alfoxshead.blogspot.com

from alfoxshead.blogspot.com

Al Fox is a cute, sparkly, colorfully-tattooed Mormon.  She was recently on the cover of LDS Living Magazine to highlight the influx of new converts.  She tells this story on her blog:

[I moved across the country to Utah, even though people were telling me not to do it because I wouldn’t fit in]

So here I am, my very first day across the country in my new home, and what am I suppose to do now? I haven’t the slightest idea. Heavenly Father didn’t tell me that much yet, haha. I ended up at Cafe Rio- we don’t have those back home- and you have to know I have a thing for tacos. So, you have to visualize this, you know how the line kind of snakes around, so you are in a big group of people while waiting? Well, I was right in the middle of it. And I was holding a church book in my hands. It was more of a grasp/hug to this book; it was a biography on one of the prophets. And while I was waiting in line I felt very tense. I could feel stares in every direction; it felt like lasers. I stood there stiff trying to ignore it but I couldn’t. I could physically feel the stares from everyone. Finally, the guy next to me tapped my on the arm and said, “You know…it’s pretty ironic you look the way you do holding that book.” 

My heart broke. Stomach knotted. Eyes teary. . . It took a bit for me to react. So many emotions ran through me, and I had to decide which one I was going to express to him. What I so badly wanted to do was to turn to him, and yell. Yell & cry to him, “Do you know what I just went through?! Do you know how hard this is! Do you know who- and what– I had to give up to be here, and I don’t even know why!”

But I fought it. I decided otherwise.
I turned to this man in Café Rio. Introduced myself. Shook his hand. I smiled so big and simply said, “I just got baptized, this is my first day here!” I said it with happiness. I said it with pride. With confidence.
How different things would have gone if I didn’t do that.
I had to make a decision. And it’s a decision I have to make every day. One you have to make every day. Several times a day. And what that is, to choose to get mad. Choose to get offended. Bothered. Confused. Or….not.
The decision to keep going. The decision to be happy and follow the spirit & counsel given….or not. Chose to have faith. Choose to trust. Or not. What it came down to- and what it always will come down to- is choose God. Or not.

And I already chose who I wanted to follow, didn’t I?

I love her genuineness.  I love her courage.  I want to face my offenders in the same positive and upfront way.  Thank you, Sister Fox!

What are your thoughts? (Please review the comment policy above)

