Thankless Motherhood

I really liked this story from Elder Marlin K. Jensen in “Union of Love and Understanding

“I have personally felt the mellowing influence of Christ’s example and teachings in my own marriage.  I can vividly recall how easy it was to be accusing and judgmental and to find fault in the early years of my marriage.  When I came home in the evenings having set the whole world in order, I would often wonder why Kathy in overseeing our young children was struggling with her few square feet in the kitchen.  Then one day a wise teacher shared with me Nephi’s touching description of the Savior: “And the world, because of their iniquity, shall judge him to be a thing of naught; wherefore they scourge him, and he suffereth it; and they smite him, and he suffereth it.  Yea, they spit upon him, and he suffereth it, because of his loving kindness and his long-suffering towards the children of men. (1 Ne. 19:9)”

photo: dailycalling.com

photo: dailycalling.com

Emily Watts, in a Time Out For Women presentation, made the same connection.  (This is just from my memory of being there, not her actual words, but her idea)

For I was an hungred, and ye gave me macaroni and cheese: I was thirsty, and ye gave me my sippy cup: I was a stranger, and ye took me in and let me make a mess with all of your toys:  Naked, and ye clothed me with piles and piles of laundry: I was sick,  and you held me all night.

And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

Keep on working those few square feet of kitchen, Moms!  It is not thankless or unnoticed.  It truly is the most important work in the world.  And if you don’t do it, no one else will.

One response to “Thankless Motherhood

What are your thoughts? (Please review the comment policy above)

